British Touring Car Championship



The British Touring Car Championship is a touring car racing series held each year in the United Kingdom, currently organised and administered by TOCA. It was established in 1958 as the British Saloon Car Championship and was renamed as the British Touring Car Championship in 1987. The championship has been run to various national and international regulations over the years including FIA Group 2, FIA Group 5, FIA Group 1, FIA Group A, FIA Super Touring and FIA Super 2000. A lower-key Group N series for production cars ran from 2000 until 2003.

Trackside crowd figures nudged the 40,000 mark as the calendar evolved into a major UK tour with events being added in Scotland and Wales. Unsurprisingly, manufacturers simply could not afford to miss out on the enormous marketing value of competing in the BTCC and Alfa Romeo, Audi, BMW, Ford, Honda, Mazda, Nissan, Peugeot, Renault, Toyota, Vauxhall and Volvo were all quick to join the party. Every one of them has the British Touring Car Championship to thank for being a part of their ongoing growth in the UK today. Honda, Subaru, BMW, Vauxhall, MG reap the rewards by fielding official ‘works’ teams in today’s championship while Ford and Toyota each provide customer support to teams on the grid.

In 2017 there will be no fewer than 5 previous British Touring Car Championship winners completing against each other, Andrew Jordan, Colin Turkington, Gordon Shedden, Jason Plato and Matt Neal.

All copyright, trademarks relating to BTCC are vested in their respective holders and MotorsportArt is neither endorsed or connected to the holders.

Showing 1–9 of 16 results