Moto GP


Moto GP Motorsport Art Canvas

Moto GP, the premier class of GP motorcycle racing, has changed dramatically in recent years. In 2002, rule changes were introduced to facilitate the phasing out of the two-strokes. The Moto GP rules permitted manufacturers to choose between running two-stroke engines of 500 cc or less or four-strokes of 990 cc or less. Despite the significantly increased costs involved in running the new four-stroke machinery, the four-strokes were soon able to dominate their two-stroke rivals. As a result, by 2003 no two-stroke machines remained in the Moto GP field.

Giacomo Agostini is the most successful champion, with 15 titles to his name. The most dominant rider of all time was Mike Hailwood. Mick Doohan, won 12 out of 15 (80%) of the 500 cc races in the 1997, deserves an honourable mention. Valentino Rossi is the most successful contemporary rider. He won nine titles including six Moto GP titles. Rossi also won the 500 cc, 250 cc and 125 cc championships. The current (2016) champion is Marc Márquez.
All copyright, trademarks relating to MotoGP are vested in their respective holders and MotorsportArt is neither endorsed or connected to the holders.

Showing 1–9 of 20 results